This is an event from our archive. Visit our Events section for our latest events.

Culture Night 2023: The Race ON DEMAND 22 Sep 2023

This Culture Night, The Ark is delighted to offer free access to stream this exciting new dance piece inspired by Aesop's Fables for children aged 4+ at home and in school.

Created by acclaimed international choreographer, Marc Brew, and presented by The Ark, Dublin Dance Festival and Arts & Disability Ireland, The Race entwines three of Aesop's Fables to create a fun, interactive and colourful world of animals, puppets, theatre and movement.

Cheer with our cast of animals as the Tortoise and the Hare set off for the finish line, join the Grasshopper in gazing with fascination as the Ants collect food for the winter ahead, and root for the little Mouse as she faces down the mighty Lion! Watch as their journeys unfold through beautiful movement and dance, and share in the lessons they learn along the way.

Originally performed as part of Dublin Dance Festival 2023, The Race is now available to stream on demand for one day only as part of Culture Night 2023. Performed by a cast of disabled and non-disabled dance artists, the show features integrated ISL and is accessible with or without captions thanks to its highly visual style.

Watch the Official Trailer

Marc chosen image Credit Eoin Carey

About Marc Brew

Acclaimed International Artistic Director and Choreographer Marc Brew trained as a professional dancer at the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School and The Australian Ballet School. He has been working in the UK and Internationally for over 24 years as a director, choreographer, dancer, teacher and speaker; with the Australian Ballet Company, State Theatre Ballet Company of South Africa, Infinity Dance Theatre, Candoco Dance Company and AXIS Dance Company. Marc was Associate Director with Scottish Dance Theatre, Associate Artistic Director with Ballet Cymru in Wales and was Associate Artist at Tramway Theatre in Glasgow and Artistic Director of AXIS Dance Company from 2017-2021.